Joint Dance Congress

Panpapanpalya 2018

Panpapanpalya 2018 is the 2nd joint congress of daCi (dance and the Child international) and WDA (World Dance Alliance) Global Education and Training Network hosted by the University of South Australia with venue partner Adelaide College of the Arts (TAFE SA).

Panpapanpalya 2018 will be one of the world’s largest gatherings of dancers, dance educators, and artists of all ages, generating new thoughts and ideas for dance learning and teaching in the 21st century. The congress is centred on four interwoven themes: dance, gathering, generations, learning.

These themes, summarised by the Aboriginal Kaurna word Panpapanpalya, honour Australia’s rich Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander dance practices, as well as Indigenous dance cultures from around the world.

Babies, young children, school and university students, dance artists, community and cultural workers, parents and carers, as well as educators, coming from diverse backgrounds and countries all over the world will be involved as participants and presenters. Throughout the congress participants will enjoy a vast array of dance experiences and new learning through presentations, social interaction and debate.

The congress will combine intercultural dance experiences across generations and explore new learning. Five days of presentations, social interaction and debate.

Session ended


Open Sunday 8 July 4:00pm
Close Friday 13 July


University of South Australia

City West Campus

Adelaide College of the Arts

39 Light Square


$85 – $625


All ages


5 Days




  • Companion Card

Panpapanpalya 2018 has been assisted by Arts South Australia, Ausdance, City of Adelaide and Kaurna Warra Pintyanthi.

Proudly supported by
Dance and the Child international (daCi), World Dance Alliance (WDA), The University of South Australia, Adelaide College of the Arts, Arts South Australia, City of Adelaide, Ausdance SA and Ausdance National, Royal Academy of Dance, The Centre for Creative Health, Royal Adelaide Hospital, SAHMRI, Adelaide Convention Bureau, Australian Dance Theatre, Cirkidz, Kurruru and Kaurna Warra Pintyanthi.